Variable Line width

Posted by: Mario

Variable Line width - 08/17/09 10:55 AM

Hi,

I have a data file with numbers from 1 till 15000 all mixed trough each other.

When number 1 till 9 comes i need to print a short line of 1 inch
On numbers 10 till 99 i need to print a short line of 2 inch
On numbers 100 till 999 i need to print a short line of 3 inch
On numbers 1000 till 9999 i need to print a short line of 4 inch
On numbers 10000 till 99999 i need to print a short line of 5 inch

Can anyone help me make this piece of presstalk?
Thanks!
Posted by: Raphael Lalonde Lefebvre

Re: Variable Line width - 08/17/09 11:24 AM

Mario,

Create a "line" shape object. For it's width, you can use an expression like this:

Code:
=inttofloat(length(@(1,1,5)))
This will give you a width equal to the number of characters in your string. Replace the coordinates 1,1,5 by your own coordinates. (line number,start column,end column)

Regards,
Rapha
Posted by: Mario

Re: Variable Line width - 08/18/09 01:52 AM

Thanks,

I copied en paste this into width but it doesnt work as i want it to...
The lines are to to long now..
How can i make them smaller?

When i have number 1 now in my data, the line is about 1 ince (like what i wanted in my first post :rolleyes: ), but its to long.
I want it just as wide as my numbers are.
(Arial bold 50pt)
Kind of the same idea as an underline, only i need to use the line on a other place in my document.
Posted by: Raphael Lalonde Lefebvre

Re: Variable Line width - 08/18/09 09:23 AM

Mario,

The code above sets the line's width to 1 inch per digits in the number.

If you want the line to be about the same total length as the number if you use a proportional font, then it's a little more complicated. But here's a way to do it.

First, create a global variable of measure type. Let's call it "linewidth". Then, create your data selection that will display the number. Make sure you check the "trim" options, and in it's PressTalk After properties, use this code:
Code:
&linewidth := &width
Then create your line, and you can set it's width to &linewidth. This will make the line the same width as the number. You can then make some adjustments using + or - if you need to.

Hope that helps.

Regards,
Rapha
Posted by: Mario

Re: Variable Line width - 08/18/09 09:53 AM

I created the global variable of measure type, called it linewidth as name and ID.
Then created my data selection and set trim and center on, but when i insert the presstalk after code it gives an error:

PTK0138: Unknown Instruction &linewidth = &width width line "&linewidth = &width" in object $_InternalTempObj_
PTK083 object [$_InternalTempObj_] is empty, possible compile error
Posted by: Raphael Lalonde Lefebvre

Re: Variable Line width - 08/18/09 09:54 AM

You actually need to put ":=" instead of "=". I've edited my original post. Sorry for that.

Rapha
Posted by: Mario

Re: Variable Line width - 08/19/09 05:55 AM

Haha no problem!!

Thanx for your help!!