invalidfileaccess

Posted by: stuartg

invalidfileaccess - 01/08/14 06:14 AM

One of my PPimage processes is showing intermittent errors -

---------------------------------------------------------------
DEBUG: Watch Process Name : Pdf_and_email
INFO: Starting conversion...
INFO: Initializing PlanetPress Alambic...
INFO: Distilling file to job00ZNBQVKTYBCCDDA93ACD06.pdf...
DEBUG: %%[ Error: invalidfileaccess; OffendingCommand: file ]%%
DEBUG:
DEBUG: Stack:
DEBUG: (w)
DEBUG: (STAPLEOFF.PS_)
DEBUG: /^OUTF
DEBUG:
DEBUG:
DEBUG: %%[ Flushing: rest of job (to end-of-file) will be ignored ]%%
DEBUG: %%[ Warning: PostScript error. No PDF file produced. ] %%
ERROR: I1007 : Error while converting to PDF : Error converting file: invalidfileaccess
ERROR: I1005 : Error while processing job; moving file to error folder: A93AD321.ps
---------------------------------------------------------------

The errors have started since upgrading to version 7.5.1 (from version 5.3) and all show the same error. The filename may change but its always a postscript attachment. I believe I am getting some kind of conflict between 2 concurrent instances of PPalambic. I had assumed that each instance of PPalambic had its own "space" to avoid conflicts. When I rerun the failed jobs they all run perfectly without error.
Posted by: Raphael Lalonde Lefebvre

Re: invalidfileaccess - 01/08/14 10:32 AM

Hi stuartg,

There could be many causes to this. As you say, it's possible there may be a conflict between multiple running instances of ppalambic. A possible scenario would be two instances of alambic trying to call the same external image. When an external image is accessed, it may become locked, and if another instance tries to access it at the same time, it will cause an error. As for it not happening in 5.3, the handling of threads is completely different in 7 than in 5.3(I believe Image 5.3 wasn't multithread at all...), so this issue might not have existed in the previous version.

Just to be sure: you ain't still running 5.3, right? Running both versions of the services on the same system at the same time isn't supported, and WILL cause issues, if you even succeed in starting them both together at all.

Regards,
Raphaël Lalonde Lefebvre
Posted by: stuartg

Re: invalidfileaccess - 01/13/14 10:01 AM

Raphaël
No I'm not running V7 and V5 together. In fact I have completely removed V5 from the system.
As you can see from the log above the jobs fail when trying to write a postscript attachment.
Can you confirm whether separate instances of PPalambic have separate filestore (eg by use of different temporary folders)? or do they all share the same file area?
thanks
Stuart
Posted by: Raphael Lalonde Lefebvre

Re: invalidfileaccess - 01/13/14 10:08 AM

Hi Stuart,

They do use their own temporary folders with their unique names, so it shouldn't be an issue.

We would need to confirm whether the multiple instances are really the problem. If you set the maximum alambic instances to 1, does it fixes the issue? (you can change this in the Preferences, under Messenger)

If not, then it's probably something else, such as an external resource being locked by another program at the time the job was trying to run.

Regards,
Raphaël Lalonde Lefebvre
Posted by: stuartg

Re: invalidfileaccess - 01/13/14 10:18 AM

Ok I've set the maximum alambic instances to 1.
I will have to wait a week to see if that improves things.
thanks
Stuart
Posted by: stuartg

Re: invalidfileaccess - 01/20/14 06:02 AM

Hi Raphaël
With only one instance of alambic I didn't get any errors.
I checked the messenger log, but unfortunately, it doesn't display the names of temporary folders.
Stuart
Posted by: psedd

Re: invalidfileaccess - 01/20/14 06:12 AM

Hi Stuart,

Could you tell me the version shown in the ppalambic.exe under the path C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Objectif Lune\PlanetPress Suite 7\PSRIP This path could also be just straight up program files without the x86 behind it depending if your running a 64 bit os.
Posted by: stuartg

Re: invalidfileaccess - 01/20/14 09:23 AM

PPalambic.exe shows Version = 7.5, FileVersion = 3.3.0.42
I'm running PP 7.5.1.7451 on Windows Server 2003,Enterprise edition SP2 (Vmware).
Stuart
Posted by: Raphael Lalonde Lefebvre

Re: invalidfileaccess - 01/20/14 09:26 AM

Hi Stuart,

At this point, I believe we'd have to take a look at your system and at your Workflow config files to see what could be wrong. Therefore, I suggest that you contact Technical Support, and have them look at your case.

Regards,
Raphaël Lalonde Lefebvre
Posted by: stuartg

Re: invalidfileaccess - 01/27/14 07:15 AM

I've contacted Support who mave managed to reproduce my results. If we get a resolution, I'll report it back here.
Stuart